General Racquetball News


October 6, 2013 - Minneapolis, MN

The original Grand Slam, the United HealthCare US Open brings the biggest names in professional racquetball and a total of 726 participants to Minneapolis in 2013, which is up 7% from 2012.


2013 US Open Professional Finalists


Kane Waselenchuk claims his 9th US Open Title by defeating Rocky Carson in the Finals, 11-9, 11-1, 11-6.  This also became his 71st Tier-1 or Grand Slam Professional IRT tournament victory, breaking the all-time record set by legend Cliff Swain.


Mexico's Paola Longoria continued her dominance by defeating Rhonda Rajisch in the LPRT Finals, 11-4, 11-1, 11-7.  This victory gave Paola her 4th US Open Title, tying that record with Rhonda Rajisch.  The victory also continues Paola's streak of 93 straight LPRT match victories and 22 straight LPRT tournament victories.


The Men's 40+ Professional CPRT Title went to Jimmy Lowe.  Jimmy defeated Canada's Corey Osborne for his second US Open CRPT Title, 9-6, 9-5, 4-9, 9-7.


Florida had 43 athletes participating.  That's up 95 % from 2012's 22 Florida participants, and was the 4th highest state participation in 2013.  Congratulations to all Florida participants and their accomplishments.

   View All Tournament Results Here



Florida Participants at the 2013 US Open

                Claudia Andrade                Renee Fish                        Adolfo Paradoa

                Larry Ardito                       Jason Gray                        Sal Perconti

                Michael Arias                     Nick Hand                         Fabian Rojas           

                Jorge Bacallao                    Tim Hardison                     Kim Roy

                Tom Bevelock                     Mike Harmon                    James Russell

                Laura Brandt                       Carmen Hernandez            Pete Scondras

                Travis Burnell                     Mark Hillman                    Robin Smith

                Glenn Carlson                      Gordon Kelly                     Tom Travers

                Larry Cashion                      Ken Kirkpatrick                  Isidro Trejo

                Charles Cole                        Jeffrey Leon                       Rod Van Dyke

                Mark Coty                            Bob Lerow                         Kelly Van Zant-Russell

                Steve DiSalvo                       Chuck Mecklem                 Jon Wuerffel

                John Dunn                             Aaron Metcalf                   Jim Yore

                Harlan Faircloth                    Sara Noyes

                Jim Fanning                          Paul Owens





Actions: E-mail | Permalink |